Experience Tasmanian’s Golden History

Located in the Tamar Valley just north of Launceston, Beaconsfield is a former gold mining town on the West Tamar highway. Settled in the 1850s it was originally mined for limestone until this lead to the discovery of gold in the late 1860s. The town was renamed from Brandy Creek to Beaconsfield in 1879 in honour of the Earl of Beaconsfield (Benjamin Disraeli) who was, at the time, the prime minister of the United Kingdom.

Beaconsfield is a great place to stop on a drive up the Tamar River from Launceston.

Beaconsfield had the global spotlight put firmly on it in 2006 when a small earthquake in the region resulted in an underground rock fall that killed one miner and left Todd Russell and Brant Webb trapped underground for nearly 2 weeks. In 2012 the mine became economically unviable and was closed.

Featured at the Mine & Heritage Centre is a simulation of the cage the miners were trapped in for nearly 2 weeks

Beaconsfield is a popular destination for tourists and its rich history of mining is carried on through the immersive and interactive Beaconsfield Mine & Heritage Centre. Also of interest is the historic timber Holy Trinity Church located in Margaret St.

Beaconsfield is a great place to stop on a drive up the Tamar River from Launceston. It is just a 40 minute drive from the city and stands close to other interesting towns such as Beauty Point and Greens Beach.

Beaconsfield • Launceston & North

Experience Tasmanian’s Golden History